General News

TCL Initiative to Honour Legacy of Kevin Taylor Receives Prestigious Award

August 2017

The South Australian Institute of Landscape Architects (AILA SA) has awarded landscape architecture and urban design studio, TCL, with the Award of Excellence for Research and Communication for its Kevin Taylor Legacy initiative.

Established in 2014, the KT Legacy program is in memory of Kevin Taylor, a founding director of TCL, who throughout his career continually explored and challenged how we interact with, interpret, and represent the Australian landscape He was also intrigued by how communities and individuals relate to the civic condition. 

Each year, a grant of $9,000 is awarded to a ‘creative’ from any profession, industry, trade or arts to explore ideas relating to the ‘expanded field of landscape architecture’. TCL invites the recipient to become a ‘creative in residence’ pursuing a topic of their choice. The grant also provides for an exhibition, event or performance at the end of each legacy.

In awarding the prize, the AILA SA Jury said, “The perpetual grant has taken the idea of a legacy to a new and creative place.”

“The residency has underpinned the exchange of ideas and enticed landscape architects to expand the forms associated with practice, expression, research, structure and approach,” the Jury said.

TCL director Kate Cullity said, “We are delighted to accept this award.  Kevin was dedicated to the art of landscape architecture, urban design and social planning throughout his career, and employed a particularly sensitive and immersive approach to design. By offering this ‘Creative in Residence’ grant, TCL are seeking to continue and expand these fields of inquiry.

“Collaboration is at the heart of TCL, especially with creative individuals and fields of study not always associated with landscape architecture. The Legacy allows us to expand connections between disciplines and incorporate new skills into our practice.”

Previous recipients of the prize include:

Applications for the 2018 program close on 29 September 2017. More information is available at: